Michael Souweha, Ph.D.


Image for Michael Souweha, Ph.D.


Office: Saskatoon

Main: (306) 975-7134

Fax: (306) 975-7145

Education & Qualifications

  • Saskatchewan Bar (2015)
  • Ontario Bar (2015)
  • JD (Ottawa, 2014)
  • Postdoctoral Fellowship (Ottawa, 2006-2010)
  • Ph.D. in organic chemistry (Saskatchewan, 2006)
  • B.Sc. with high honours (Saskatchewan, 2000)

Michael Souweha is a lawyer who can quickly connect with technology-oriented clients seeking patent protection, exploitation and enforcement. Prior to law school, he finished his Ph.D. in organic chemistry.

Michael practises in the area of intellectual property law with a focus on patent law. He has experience drafting and prosecuting patent applications and assisting with proceedings under the Patented Medicine (Notice of Compliance) Regulations. While in law school, he worked for a term as an intern at the Trade-Marks Opposition Board.

Michael finished his Ph.D. in organic chemistry before beginning his legal career. Prior to joining the firm, Michael was a postdoctoral fellow at the Department of Chemistry, University of Ottawa and articled at a national law firm in Ottawa.


  • Intellectual Property Institute of Canada
  • Canadian Bar Association, Saskatchewan Branch
  • Saskatoon Bar Association

Numerous articles and presentations on synthetic studies in chemistry in peer reviewed scientific journals and conferences. Selected examples include:

  • Book Chapter: “Product Class 5: Cyclic Eneynes,” Alex G. Fallis and Michael S. Souweha. Science of Synthesis 2008, Volume 44.
  • “Vinigrol: A Compact, Diene-Transmissive Diels-Alder Strategy to the Tricyclic Core,” Michael Santos Souweha, Gary D. Enright, and Alex G. Fallis; Organic Letters 2007, 9, 5163 -5166.
  • “Catalytic Enantioselective Diels-Alder Reaction by Self-Assembly of the Components on a Lewis Acid Template,” D. E. Ward and Michael Santos Souweha; Organic Letters 2005, 7, 3533-3536.
  • NSERC Postgraduate Scholarship (2000)
  • NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Award (1999; 2000)
  • Society of Chemical Industry Merit Award (2000)
  • Thorvaldson Undergraduate Scholarship in Chemistry (1999)