Helga Van Iderstine Receives Richard J. Scott Award

Winnipeg lawyer Helga Van Iderstine has been named the 2022 recipient of the Richard J. Scott Award.

The award, named after Manitoba’s former Chief Justice Richard Scott, is presented annually by the Law Society of Manitoba to an individual who has made significant contributions to a strong and independent legal profession through advocacy, litigation, teaching, research, writing or mentoring.

“I’m honoured to receive the Richard J. Scott Award,” Helga said. “Throughout my career I’ve had the good fortune of building lasting relationships with clients while striving to be a champion for the legal profession. I’m humbled to be in the excellent company of past award recipients.”

Helga focuses her practice on litigation and administrative law. She has received numerous recognitions for her work in personal injury and medical negligence litigation and is a past recipient of the MBA – Pro Bono Public Interest award. She is a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers.

Outside the office, Helga is chair of the Canada Games Legacy Trust sits on the board of the Legal Aid Manitoba Management Council for Winnipeg and World Trade Centre Winnipeg.

MLT Aikins is pleased to congratulate Helga on this well-deserved achievement and her outstanding contributions to the legal profession. Learn more about Helga’s practice.