Helga Van Iderstine


Image for Helga Van Iderstine


Office: Winnipeg

Main: (204) 957-4679

Fax: (204) 957-4268

Services provided by H D Van Iderstine Law Corporation

Education & Qualifications

  • Manitoba Bar (1991)
  • LLB (Manitoba, 1990)
  • BRS (Manitoba, 1984)

Helga is a partner practising in the areas of civil litigation and administrative law, with particular focus on regulatory issues, including professional liability, health law, personal injury, public utility regulation and privacy legislation. She has appeared in all levels of courts in Manitoba, the Supreme Court of Canada and before a variety of regulatory boards and tribunals.

  • Member, Practice and Ethics Committee, Law Society of Manitoba (2018)
  • Board Member, Manitoba Theatre Centre (2015-present)
  • Corporate Secretary, 2017 Canada Games (2013-present)
  • Board of Directors, Manitoba Law Foundation Board (2013-2016)
  • Council Member, University of Manitoba Law Faculty (2012-2014)
  • Trustee, University of Manitoba Faculty of Law Endowment Fund (2012-present)
  • Law Society of Manitoba Presidents Charity, Lawyers for Literacy, West Broadway Youth Organization, (2012-2018)
  • President, Law Society (2011-2012)
  • Board of Directors, Canada Iceland Foundation (2011-present)
  • Co-chair, Legal Help Centre Opening Celebration Dinner (May 2011)
  • Committee Member, Canada Iceland Foundation Scholarship (2007- present), Chair (2010-present)
  • Leadership Committee, United Way (2009)
  • Organizing Committee Member, Children’s Hospital Foundation Ice Crystal Gala (2008-2010)
  • Board of Directors, Red River Exhibition Association (1999-2007), Executive Board (2003-2007)
  • Board of Director positions with National Sports Centre Manitoba (2001-2003); Manitoba Sports Federation (1995-1996)
  • Trustee positions with Manitoba Foundation for Sport (1995-2008), Sport Manitoba Legacy Trust Fund (1996-2000)
  • Judicial Nominations Committee for Manitoba Provincial Court (2010, 2012)
  • Articling Task Force (2012)
  • Vice Chair, Discipline Committee (2013-2014); Member, Discipline Committee (2012-2014)
  • Member, Equity Committee (2009-2012)
  • Member, Complaints Investigation Committee (2007-2012), Chair (2009), Vice Chair (2008)
  • Member, Admissions and Education Committee (2010-2011)
  • Member, Professional Liability Claims Fund Committee (2009-present)
  • Member, Reimbursement Fund Committee (2006-2007)
  • Member, Practice and Ethics Committee (2005-2006)
  • Chair Health Law Subsection (2004-2005)
  • Board of Directors, Legal Data Resources Corporation (2007-2011)
  • Board of Directors, Manitoba Alternate, Canadian Lawyers Insurance Company (CLIA) (2007-2011)


  • Law Society of Manitoba
  • Manitoba Bar Association
  • Canadian Bar Association
  • Law Society of Alberta, honorary member
  • Law Society of Saskatchewan, honorary member
  • Manitoba Bar Association, Midwinter Meeting, Litigation privilege (2014)
  • Canadian Bar Association, Health and Law Forum (2009, 2011)
  • Canadian Bar Association (MB) Midwinter Meeting, personal Injury Damages (2011)
  • Pitblado Lectures, Appellate Law (2006)
  • Law Society of Manitoba – Bar Administration Course and CPLED program – group leader/facilitator/lecturer, advocacy and discovery
  • Various presentations to law students and lawyers on litigation practice issues
  • Various presentations to medical students on issues of medicine, ethics and the law
  • Update on Privacy, Continuing Professional Development Presentation (2014)
  • “Confidentiality, Privilege and Privacy: Keep It To Yourself,” Articling Presentation (annual)
  • “Social Networking: Marketing Yourself Best Practices, Ethical and Other Consideration,” Continuing Professional Development Presentation (February 2012)
  • “Disputes in Tendering,” Upword (September 19, 2012)
  • Named by Best Lawyers as the Lawyer of the Year for Personal Injury Litigation (2016, 2018)
  • Recognized by Best Lawyers for Personal Injury Litigation (since 2006)
  • Recipient of MBA Pro Bono Award for Families First project (January 2012)
  • Recognized as Leading Lawyer for Medical Negligence (Represents Defendants) in the Lexpert directories (since 2010)