Jeff Lee and Sonia Eggerman Elected Benchers of Law Society of Saskatchewan 

MLT Aikins is pleased to announce that Saskatoon lawyer Jeff Lee, Q.C. and Regina lawyer Sonia Eggerman have been elected by their peers as Benchers for the Law Society of Saskatchewan.

The Law Society of Saskatchewan is governed by a board (Benchers) of lawyers and non-lawyers. The Benchers govern the Law Society by setting and enforcing standards for admissions, professional conduct and quality of service. The service of our Benchers is crucial to maintaining public confidence in an independent legal profession.

Please join us in congratulating Jeff and Sonia on this well-deserved election.

About Jeff Lee, Q.C.

Jeff Lee represents companies in financial distress, lenders and court officers in restructuring and insolvency proceedings across Western Canada. He has appeared before Superior Courts in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba and New Brunswick, Appellate Courts in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba and before the Federal Court, Tax Court and Supreme Court of Canada.

About Sonia Eggerman

Sonia provides practical results through litigation and negotiation in Aboriginal, constitutional, administrative and public law. She has extensive experience in Aboriginal law on various matters including Aboriginal and Treaty rights, governance issues, land use planning, on-reserve economic development, regulatory and other constitutional issues.

About the Law Society of Saskatchewan

In 1907, two years after the Saskatchewan became a province, the Law Society of Saskatchewan was created under The Legal Profession Act.

The Legal Profession Act from 1907, and its more recent iteration, The Legal Profession Act, 1990, delegated to the Law Society of Saskatchewan the responsibility to govern the legal profession in the province, and it mandates that the profession be governed in the public interest.

The Law Society is governed by a board of 23 Benchers, including 17 elected members from nine electoral divisions, one elected new lawyer member (admitted to the practice of law cumulatively for fewer than 10 years), the Dean of the College of Law and four Public Representatives appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.