Eric Buettner



Winnipeg / Services provided by E J Buettner Law Corporation

Eric practises in the areas of corporate and commercial law with a focus on mergers and acquisitions.

  • Merger and acquisition transaction conduct and involvement, with experience representing buyers and sellers in large-, mid- and small-market transactions, including cross-border transactions
  • Implementation of structures for new investments and representation of investors in establishing their relationships, including preparation and negotiation of shareholders’ agreements and partnership agreements
  • Negotiation and documentation of commercial arrangements, with experience in manufacturing, technology, cannabis and various other sectors
  • Institutional and private lender financing transactions, with experience representing lenders and borrower groups
  • Commercial real property transaction and lease arrangements, including representation of commercial buyers, sellers, tenants and landlords

Eric is experienced in providing advice to private corporations and shareholders in the negotiation and completion of purchases and sales of businesses, commercial transaction structuring, mergers, corporate finance, corporate planning, organization and governance, and shareholder and partnership agreements. In addition, he has advised a wide variety of corporate and shareholder clients in various industries, including professional corporations.

  • Director, Winnipeg Film Group (Winnipeg, 2015-2016)
  • Secretary, Winnipeg Film Group (Winnipeg, 2016)
  • Student Lead, UMSU Legal Information Clinic (2012-2013)
  • Student Volunteer, UMSU Legal Information Clinic (2010-2012)
  • Member, Manitoba Bar Association (Manitoba)
  • Member, Canadian Bar Association
  • Dean’s Honour List, Faculty of Law (2010-2011; 2012-2013)
  • Law Society Prize for second highest standing in third year law (2013)
  • Alf Francis Memorial Prize (2013)
  • D.A. Thompson Q.C. Prize, Comparative Law (2013)
  • Osgoode Society Legal History Prize (2012)
  • Honorable Archibald S. Dewer Prize, Advocacy (2012)
  • Borden Ladner Gervais Professional Excellence Award (2011)
  • Dean’s Honour List, Faculty of Arts (2006-2009)