Nicholas Horlick



Image for Nicholas Horlick

Education & Qualifications

  • Saskatchewan Bar (2016)
  • JD with distinction (Saskatchewan, 2015)
  • BA with high honours (Saskatchewan, 2012)

Nicholas Horlick is an associate lawyer whose practice focuses on tax litigation.

Nicholas Horlick is an associate lawyer and member of the MLT Aikins tax litigation team. He assists individuals and businesses with taxation issues in a variety of contexts, including federal income tax, GST, provincial sales tax, tax-driven bankruptcy, and property tax assessment.

He graduated from University of Saskatchewan with distinction in 2015 and was a member of the Saskatchewan Law Review editorial board and the Gale Moot team.

  • Mentor, CBA Mentorship Program (2019-present)
  • Volunteer Guest Judge, Bowman Tax Moot (2018-present)
  • Director, Saskatchewan Playwrights Centre (2016-2017)
  • Performer, Dissent Night (2015)
  • Performer, Legal Follies (2013, 2015)
  • Patron, Legal Follies Board (2012-2013)

Presenter, “Income Tax – Assessments, Objections, Voluntary Disclosure and Risk” (CPA Saskatchewan, January 2019 and October 2019)
Preparer, “Recent Court Decisions” (2018 Prairie Provinces Tax Conference)
Preparer, “A Potpourri of Tax Administration Issues” (2018 Prairie Provinces Tax Conference)
Presenter, “Managing Risk in Your Tax Practice” (CPA Saskatchewan, February 2017 and October 2017)
Co-author, Rectification in the Post-Juliar Era – The Modern State of Rectification and Guidance for Practitioners (2017 Prairie Provinces Tax Conference)
Preparer, “Is Rectification Still a Remedy – A Practical Overview” (2017 Prairie Provinces Tax Conference)
Preparer, “Rectification and Equitable Remedies – An Update for Accountants and Tax Advisors” (2016)
Preparer, “Fixing Tax Mistakes: Ethical Issues, the Correction of Documents, and Equitable Remedies” (2015)

  • Editorial Board Member, Saskatchewan Law Review (2013-2014)
  • Team Member, Saskatchewan Gale Moot Team (2013-2014)
  • MacIsaac and Company Moot Award (2013)
  • William Elliott Scholarship (2012)
  • Mabel F. Timlin Prize in Business Economics (2012)